Please note that the program is published in Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Back to overview


WEB Synchrotron X-rays to Engineer Novel Alloys for Additive Manufacturing

Friday (25.09.2020)
13:20 - 13:35 C: Characterization 1
Part of:

Metal-based additive manufacturing (AM) or colloquially termed 3D printing is resulting in a paradigm change across multiple industries such as the aerospace. In particular, the advantages of AM account estimated production savings up to 50% for titanium based components, by missing out exorbitant machining costs and material loss. Nevertheless, the vast majority of the alloys used nowadays for AM are based on compositions inherited from conventional manufacturing. As a result, complex and costly process chains are usually necessary to adapt the materials to the foreseen application. It is therefore essential to create new alloys to exploit the metallurgical conditions of AM and achieve maturity in this technology. High resolution 3D and 4D synchrotron characterization methods are playing a decisive role to unveil the mechanisms governing the microstructure formation in these novel materials. Our contribution will present advances in 4D time-resolved characterization which serve us to discover a transformation which allows breaking up the anisotropy and controlling the grain size in a Ti-alloy developed for ALM. The methodology employed, namely synchrotron tomography and high energy synchrotron X-ray diffraction, at the temperatures at which the transformation takes place, opens up new insights to understand the continuous influence phase transformations have on microstructure formation.

Dr. Pere Barriobero Vila
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Additional Authors:
  • Dr. Katrin Bugelnig
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • Kenneth Silva
    University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Dr. Eric Breitbarth
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • Tobias Strohmann
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • Dr. Joachim Gussone
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • Dr. Jan Haubrich
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • Dr. Norbert Schell
    Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht
  • Dr. Andreas Stark
    Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht
  • Dr. Julie Villanova
    European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF)
  • Prof. Dr. Guillermo Requena
    German Aerospace Center (DLR)